NOvember Challenge: 1st week book reveal

Ok, I have to admit I think this is going to be more challenging than I thought.  I decided to go with the book/author I’ve said the biggest no to over the last 5 to 10 years.  So here goes nothing, the book I will be reading for my first week of the NOvember Challenge is…

murder suspect book cover

Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson

I do not like James Patterson (as an author, i’m sure he is a perfectly nice guy in real life).  This is for two reasons.  First, I’ve read exactly one book by him and hated it (not disliked but actually hated it). Second, at the previously library I worked at I was in charge of keep the shelf that contained his books straight and in order.  This doesn’t seem like it should be that big of a deal but for some reason it was a nightmare.  He was such a popular author that his books got looked at/picked up/knocked onto the floor a lot.  There is only so many times you can pick up the same books before you start to build an anger towards that author for writing so many books.  Ok, I’ll admit this probably isn’t a good/rational reason to not read someones books but I never said that we as readers made good or rational reasons for saying no.  So as of today i’m officially reading Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson (ugh it pains me to type that).  Wish me luck!

1 Comment

  1. LOL I like your reasoning for not liking his books! I think I’ve read four books by him. Two adult, two young adult. The two adult, I thought they were okay if you wanted fast reads, but there was no substance. The young adult books were the first two books in the Witch and Wizard series. I wanted to like that series so much, and I just didn’t. It wasn’t what I was hoping it would be. I look forward to hearing your review of this though!

Leave a Reply

