NOvember Book Challenge!

book a day

“It’s to long”, “I don’t like that author”, “The cover is to weird looking”, “I never read that genre”, “My friend said that book isn’t very good”, “Classics are boring”…

As readers we all have different reasons why we say no to reading a book.  There are so many books out there that you simply don’t have enough time to read everything.  However as someone who has worked at both libraries and bookstores I can tell you that a lot of readers put themselves in a rut of only a reading certain “type” of books. Just because one time we had a bad experience with a genre, a friend said not to read it, its length, it’s to obscure, it’s too popular, and so on and so on.  There are so many excuses as to why we don’t read something! Did you ever stop to think about the fact that you may miss out an awesome book simply because you decided long ago you don’t read those “types” of books?

For each week in NOvember i’m going to read a book i’ve previously said no to reading.  On Mondays i’ll reveal the book and the reason I had been saying no.  Then on Fridays i’ll review it and talk about how (or if) it has changed my mind.

But this isn’t just about me, I’m challenging you to read to step outside your comfort zone and read something different!  The challenge is to read at least one book this month that you previously said no to reading.  I believe in us!  Leave comments about what book you are reading, why you said no, or just your thoughts on being in a book rut (maybe i’m wrong and ruts are a wonderful thing.  We shall see!).  Make sure you check back all NOvember!

2 Comments

  1. At first when I started thinking about this idea I kept thinking it was such a teenage behavior, for me to tell them about a book only to have it shot down for some really random reason. But then I realized that most adults are the same way. And so was I! I may end up hating everything I read but at least I’ll be able to say I’ve read outside my comfort zone, that I tried something new!

Leave a Reply

