Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesday

Happy Tuesday! Today topic over at The Broke and the Bookish is Ten Bookish Things I Want To Quit Or Have Quit.  They decided to focus on books they decided not to finish.  I’m gong to focus my list on things have seen or heard at the library.  So click below to see my list of Five Bookish Behaviors I want Other People To Quit.

Five Bookish Behaviors I Want Other People To Quit

  1.  Book shaming:  “Ugh I can’t believe you like reading”  “Eww you’re reading that book!”  I love to read but some people don’t.  While I can’t understand why not I do respect their right to not read.  However over and and over again (especially when I do outreach to the local high schools) I’ve heard someone say negative things about people who are interested in books (sadly a lot of times the person ends up leaving without a book because of this negativity).  It is even worse when another reader says bad things about the book you are reading.  Hey we are all part of the same literary family, be respectful of the fact that different people have different taste.  There is a reason we have so many genres!  So enjoy your favorite genre/author/books without shame!
  2. Judging a book by its size:  One of the most common questions I was asked when helping students pick which required summer reading book they were going to read was “Which one is shorter?”  Even worst some parents didn’t see a problem with this question!  Thankfully some parents explained to their teens that you should pick a based off which which one you are more interested instead of size.  Do you know how many amazing books you will miss out on if you allow the amount of pages to get in your way?  I’ll confess to being intimidated by very long books before but no more.
  3. Never ending story:  If their was one reading habit I could go back and tell teen me to stop doing would be feeling like I have to finish every series that I started.  “I have to finish the series even if it isn’t that good” is not only something I said but something I’ve heard teen after teen say to me.  It is such a waste.  There are so many good books you’ve now missed out on because you made yourself read a series that you stop liking several books ago.  If you don’t like it, stop reading it (unless it is for school, always read school books).
  4. Read this:  I’ve seen parent after parent after parent decide what a child or teen is going to read.  That’s great if you know what they like or if they are someone who will read anything but most of the time it ends with the child/teen never even opening the book.  With reluctant readers it is all about asking what they are interested in then finding a book about that.  They like sports?  I’ve got a book about that.  Dancing?  Yup about that too.  You pick a topic and I will work hard to find you something they can read.  Then they are excited about reading instead of dreading it.
  5. SHHHHH!:  You don’t even know how many people think my job is to stand here and shush people all day.  Seriously I’ve never shushed anyone at work and I don’t plan on doing it in the future.  It is the children’s department, it is rarely quiet over here and I like it!
6 Comments

  1. In regards to number 1, I had a similar conversation yesterday about Twilight, since the 10th anniversary book and the new gender swapped version just came out. I somewhat liked the books, but I don’t think they were very well written. However, I do like that they got a lot of teens reading, so I don’t think people should shame anyone for reading them.

  2. I have no issues with people discussing or not liking a book (or in this case a version of a book). Book debates are always fun. It just bothers me so much when it becomes rude or involves shaming someone else. I watched a boy be super interested in a book until his friend walked up and said how stupid reading was, so of course the boy immediately put the book down and acted like he wasn’t interested in reading either. It made me so mad but unfortunately there wasn’t really anything I could do about. I still have hope though that maybe next time he will visit my checkout table without his friend.
    I saw that it was the anniversary of Twilight but I didn’t know about the gender swap versions. I’ll have to at least read a little just out of curiosity.

  3. Yeah, the new version is a flip book, with the anniversary edition on one side, and the new book, Life and death, Twilight reimagined on the other side. All the roles are gender swapped. The human is Beau, the vampire is Edythe, the werewolf is Jules, etc.

Leave a Reply

