Top Ten Tuesday…Wednesday Edition

Hey guys!  Sorry I missed posting yesterday.  I don’t what it is about Tuesdays that always makes them crazy busy but they are.  But hey better late than never, right?  So over at The Broke and The Bookish  yesterday they did Top Ten Authors We’ve Read the Most Books From.  If you don’t already follow The Broke and The Bookish then you should, I love their Top Ten List and this week’s is great.  However I have decided to do kinda the opposite idea this week, so click below to read my list of Top Five Authors I Love but Haven’t Read Very Much From.

toptentuesday

Some people believe in love at first sight, I believe in love at first book.  All of the authors on today’s list I absolutely love yet I’ve only read one book from them, for a variety of reasons.  Do you do the same thing?  Leave me a comment letting me which authors you need to read more from!

Author:  Rainbow Rowell

Only Book I’ve Read:  Fangirl

Reason:  If you have read any of my other list then seeing Fangirl listed and me saying I love Rainbow Rowell isn’t a surprise.  However it might be surprising to learn I’ve never read anything else by this author, espcially considering how popular Eleanor & Park is.  She even has some adult fiction novels that sounds great.  The problem is Fangirl spoke to me on such a personal level (I wish more authors wrote main characters who are dealing with real life issues such as anxiety) and I know the other books won’t feel so personal.  Does that mean they won’t be good?  Not at all.  Is it fair to the other books? Nope, but it doesn’t stop me from feeling that way.  With that being said I do think eventually curiosity will get to me and i’ll have to read another one of her books.  Eventually.

Author:  Andrew Smith

Only Book I’ve Read: Winger

Reason: Some authors write about similar topics/settings/ideas/themes or in the same style in all of their books.  Some authors have a wide variety of these things.  Andrew Smith is in the variety category.  It took me a while to get into Winger but once I did I couldn’t read it fast enough.  Soon after finishing it I looked up Andrew’s other books but none of them really interested me, so I just never read anything else.  Well that is till September when Stand-Off, the sequel to Winger, comes out.

Author:  Jay Asher

Only Book I’ve Read:  The Future of Us

Reason:  I’ve been told by so many people that I need to read Thirteen Reasons Why, that it is heartbreaking but a must read.  I will read it someday but to me books on heavy topics, such as suicide in this case, can’t be read just whenever.  I need to be prepared or in the right mind set to read and absorb books like that.

Author:  John Green

Only Book I’ve Read:  The Fault In Our Stars

Reason:  Hype.  Hype is the reason I’ve never read more John Green.  While I did love (and cried over) The Fault In Our Stars the crazy amount of hyper around every John Green book and John Green himself has lead me to keep my distance.

Author:  Victoria Aveyard

Only Book I’ve Read:  Red Queen

Reason:  Well in my defense it is the only book she has.  Technically this is cheat since Red Queen is her debut novel but I wish I could read more of her!

3 Comments

  1. I’ve only read Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green. I really liked it. I was going to read The Fault in Our Stars, but I wanted to watch the movie first, and then I really liked the movie, and I’m afraid if I read the book, I won’t like the movie anymore.

    I love Maureen Johnson, but the only thing I’ve read by her is her Shades of London series, which has three books. I’ve read all three, but she’s written several other things. I haven’t read anything else by her. I love her on Twitter though.

Leave a Reply

