Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesday

Yup, yup it’s Wednesday, so not only am I a day late (not my fault, I was sick yesterday!) but i’m also going rouge with my list again!  Let me start off by saying Happy 5th anniversary to the team that runs the Top Ten List over at The Broke and the Bookish!  In celebration they did a Top Ten List of their favorite Top Ten topics from the last 5 years.  Congrats guys!  Unfortunately I’ve only been participating in Top Ten Tuesdays for about 6 months so I don’t really feel like this topic is the best for me.  So like I said i’m going rouge and I’ve decided to a  List All About Titles!  I’ve got the good, the bad, and the confusing.  So click below to read my list and make sure to leave me a comment with what you think makes a title so good or horribly bad!

First let me admit that while all list are just my opinion this is probably one of the most subjective list I’ve ever done.  Titles are one of those weird things that matters to some people and some people could care less.  Some people love quirky titles while others prefer short and to the point ones.  There is such a fine line with making sure your title isn’t too generic but also not wanting something overly complicated   This is just of list of titles that I personally think are either awesome or horrible (with a questionable one thrown in). Also this is not a commentary on if the book itself is good or bad.  We all on the same page?  Great, lets get started!

Good

Anna and the French Kiss

Lola and the Boy Next Door

Isla and the Happily Ever After  by Stephaine Perkins

These titles let you know exactly what kind of books these books are.  They convey the light, fluffy, romantic feel that these books are going for.  There is no way you read these titles and thought “oh I bet this is a serious series”.  And that’s perfect!  I would rather a title be honest about what i’m going to read.  If I’m looking for something lighter then I know this is the book for me, just like if i’m looking for something serious I know to put this book down.  I love when a title perfectly matches the tone of a book.

Bad

White Cat

Red Glove

Black Heart by Holly Black

Could these titles be anymore generic?  Seriously, nothing about these titles make me want to pick up any of these books.  They almost sound like she looked around a room picked the first color and object she saw.  These titles are so forgettable, which is pretty much the exact opposite of what you want a title to do.  Titles should grab your attention and these just don’t.

Good

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Normally I am not a fan of longer titles.  To me titles are just supposed to be a snapshot of the book, not a thesis statement.  Unfortunately long titles seem to be very popular in the last couple of years (The Statistical Probability of Love at First SightAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, just to name a few).  I think this great example of how to do a longer title that works.  First of all it fits well with the uniqueness of the book and really does read like a sign you would see outside children’s home.  While the title is longer it doesn’t feel like a chore to read like some long titles do and people seem to have an easy time remembering it.  So many times people come into the library and can only remember part of a title.  Do you know hard are it is to look for a book when you only have part of a title? Very.

Bad

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

I’m sorry what?  Even after reading the synopsis of the book I still find myself going huh?  For all I know this book might be amazing but I can’t take it seriously with that title.  It is so baffling sounding.  And kinda awkward to say.  Not a fan of this title at all.

Good

Crank

Glass

Fallout by Ellen Hopkins

I think these short titles are perfect for Ellen Hopkins books that are written in verse.  There is something about the titles that is haunting.  The are short but memorable.  I think the cover choices that were made really help sell the titles as well.

Bad

Finnikin of the Rock

Froi of Exiles

Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta

I’ve heard from a lot of people that these books are amazing.  And I do want to read them.  To be completely honest though the titles have always intimidated me.  If I can’t even pronounce the words in the title how am I ever going to be able to understand the books!  These titles are not only hard to look up in a catalog since the spelling is difficult but they seem to say “only read me is you are super serious about the fantasy genre”.  Yup i’ll admit, i’m scared of these titles!

Good

The Art of Secrets  by James Klise

This book is not only about skill (or “art”) of the main character keeping secrets but about an actual piece of art.  How can you not love a title with some good word play in it!

Bad

The ________’s Daughter by a lot of people

A few years ago a coworker/friend pointed out to me how many books use this format for their title.  Ever since then I can’t help but notice how right she is!  The Murderer’s Daughter, The Ice Captain’s Daughter, The Ditch Digger’s Daughter, The Madman’s Daughter, The Heretic’s Daughter. And those aren’t even all from the first search page of 20 that amazon found!

Questionable

The True Meaning of Smekday! by Adam Rex

I really, really, really love this book.  Even though it is classified as a children’s book I recommend it to all ages.  However people always give me a funny look when I say the name.  I remember when it was recommended to me I gave the person a funny look, but since then I will admit the title has grown on me.  Recently they came out with an animated movie based off this book but they changed the title to Home.  This really bugs me.  I can completely understand why they felt the need to change the title to something a little less odd but to go from such a unique title to something so generic didn’t make sense.  There wasn’t anything in the middle?  The movie title has no personality.  I ended up not seeing it because if i’m already disappointed just by seeing the title i’m sure the rest of the movie will disappoint me too.

2 Comments

  1. Wow, I was mentioned twice in this blog post! I’m almost famous! That said, man you mentioned a lot of books I like. I agree that the titles White Cat, etc. are not great titles, but paired with the synopsis of the first book, it was enough to get me to buy the book for the library and want to read it, and I really enjoyed the series. The Lumatere Chronicles (Finnikin of the Rock, etc.) I read aloud to Bryan, so yeah, it was fun pronouncing all those names. But we just decided on a pronunciation that we liked and stuck with it.

    I always thought The Coldest Girl in Coldtown was a weird title, and I agree the synopsis makes my head twirl so I still haven’t decided to read that one.

    Those stupid daughter books are still coming out!

    Here’s a title for ya, and it’s a fun book – I am a genius of unspeakable evil and I want to be your class president!

    • I’ve seen that title before! I’lll admit that one does sound fun but some of these longer titles i’m pretty sure they just did to be “different” even though it really isn’t. I’ve seen bands do the same thing with titles to songs. The first couple of times I thought it was really interesting and different but now it is almost like that’s the norm. I need to just get past my fear and read Finnikin of the Rock.

Leave a Reply

