Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesday

Yay it’s Tuesday!!! Time for another Top Ten Tuesday list!  The people over at The Broke and The Bookish have done on awesome list of Books on their Summer To Be Read List, so make sure you check it out when you get done here.  As for me I had to stop making To Be Read Lists a while back.  It got to the point where I was constantly writing more and more books down but never had time to really go back and read any off the list.  I had lists everywhere!  On my phone, at my desk, on my nightstand.  I even have a Goodreads account where I have books listed but to be honest I don’t ever go back and look at it when choosing a new book to read.  There is always something new at the library (or sometimes old, just new to me) that catches my eye first.  So one day I just had to admit to myself that I will never read all the books that I want to read.  It sucks but it’s the truth, there are just too many books in the world.  Occasionally I’ll write down the name of a book that’s being recommended to me by someone but for the most part I’ve learned that if I want to read it bad enough i’ll remember it.  With all that being said I decided today for my rouge list i’m going to do Top Five Favorite Fictional Couples!  Click below to check out my list and let me know in the comments if you agree or disagree.  (WARNING!  There will be spoilers in this post.  Yes you probably already knew that but it’s always nice to warn people just in case.)

1.  Harry and Ginny from the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling does an amazing job of having her characters grow up over the course of 7 books. Seeing Ginny go from timid, star struck, little girl to bold, brave, and independent woman is enough to make Ginny one of my favorite characters.  Ginny and Harry are such a good match and it is even more adorable that it took Harry so long to realize his feelings for her.  Friends first, couple second.  So cute for such a kick butt couple!

2.  Percy Jackson and Annabeth Case from the Percy Jacson series by Rick Riordan

He is the back talking, boat loving, son of a sea god who has a tendency to get into a lot fights (not always his fault mind you).  She is the super smart, strategic minded, architecture obsessed daughter of the goddess of wisdom.  They are the best example of opposites attracting.  Together they can take down any bad guy and still have time to go on a date, maybe even share a piece of blue cake!

3.  Annie and Finnick from the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

I know pretty much everyone else when picking a couple from the Hunger Games series would pick Katniss and Peeta.  And I do love them but when reading the last book I just couldn’t help but hope for Finnick to get to go home to Annie.  I wanted a better life for them, for them to no longer to be the crazy girl and the boy the capital uses.  From the few time you get to see them together you can tell they so in love.  I really hoped that Suzanne Collins would spare this couple.  Sadly war, even fictional, spares no one.

4.  Lady Fire and Prince Brigan from Fire by Kristin Cashore

I think I like this couple so much because the author took her time with building their relationship.  So many YA authors lately seem to have couple fall in insta love, where after only meeting once or twice they are already confessing their unending love to each other.  Blah!  This couple moves slowly from them not wanting to be around each other, to them finding a mutual respect for the other person, to being friends, and finally to them realizing they want something more.  There love makes sense, I can see all the little moments that made them see each other in a new light, made the fall in love with each other.  It is beautiful.

5.  The Harry Potter Supporting Characters who either married people you never heard of/barely knew from the books

Ok this one probably seems a little odd but humor me for a minute.  I liked that at the end of the Harry Potter series (and from reading stuff that J.K. Rowling said in interviews after the series was over) not everyone married the people you probably thought they would marry and some even married characters that didn’t really appear much in the series.  Neville Longbottom married Hannah Abbott not Luna Lovegood like most people assumed was going to happen (Luna married a guy named Newt Scamander).  Draco married Astoria Greengrass not Pansy Parkinson which I pretty much thought would be a given.  This is a bold move that a lot of authors wouldn’t make but it makes sense.  Not everyone is going to end up with who they date in school. Plus from an authors point of view this shows how big the fictional world they create really is.  Even though we as readers are very attached to the characters we have been reading about for so long that doesn’t mean the author has to be limited to just those characters.  Good move J.K.!

6 Comments

  1. Had to look this up and get the correct info, but Luna married Rolf Scamander, grandson of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them author Newt Scamander, I knew it wasn’t Newt, only because I knew he was around before the Harry Potter books and wrote the textbook that was in the books, so he would have been pretty old for Luna to marry! lol Eddie Redmayne is going to be playing Newt in the Fantastic Beasts movie.

    One fictional couple that I really enjoyed that I wanted to add is Finnikin and Evanjalin in the Finnikin of the Rock series. I love that series, and I love their relationship.

  2. I love your list of fictional characters, but you forgot a few! *clears throat* Clary and Jace, from The Mortal Instruments, Eleanor and Park, from Eleanor & Park, Augustus and Hazel, from THE FREAKING FAULT IN OUR STARS, just to name a few. But I do have to agree with you on H&G, and P&A! Anyway, I still make lists, but the same thing always happens to me. One-hundred percent right on the money. So what I do is order the books from the library as soon as I see them. True, that leaves me with fifty books tbr in two weeks, but you can renew them! 🙂 I actually think I have OOD (Obsessive Ordering Disorder). 🙂 Great post! Keep up the great work!
    -Nikki 🙂

  3. I actually found that if i take home from the library all the books that I want to read I get overwhelmed. Maybe it is because I work at the library so I see so many book in a day but I found myself home with so many books, so i would end up bouncing from book to book unable to pick one and ending up returning them without ever having finished any of them. It got to be too much! So now I limit myself to only having 2 or 3 checked out at a time. But I always love hearing about people using the library to get their book supply. So many people don’t know about being able to put books on hold. Use the library people, it will save you so much money!

Leave a Reply

