Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesdayIt’s tuesday and i’m going rogue!  Greetings everyone.  Today over at the Broke and the Bookish the theme is Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Rest of the Year.  They had some great choices but I’ve decided to go rogue once again with my topic today.  So without further ado, I present to you my Top 5 Most Dislikable Characters!  Click below to see the list and enjoy!

1.  Dolores Umbridge from the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Not only does everyone I’ve ever talked to about the Harry Potter series say that they strongly dislike Umbridge but according to what I’ve seen online there is a pretty big group of HP fans that actually dislike her more that than they dislike Voldemort!  She abuses children, she is controlling, she believes that magic wands are for “pure bloods” only, she has horrible fashion sense….you can clearly see why no one likes her.

2.  Nick Manter from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

While nick doesn’t show how much of a jerk he is until later in the book I will admit when he was first introduced I was hoping he wasn’t going to be the love interest.  From the very start he reminded me of too many people I met in college, who were more interested in talking/showing how awesome they were and not about learning something new.  From the very start it was obvious Nick already thought he was better than everyone else.  No thanks, I don’t need a fictional friend like that.

3.  Archer from Fire by Kristin Cashore

Oh Archer.  I tried so hard to find good qualities about you but you made it so hard.  It seemed like every chapter Archer was in he was doing something new to make me dislike him.  Mostly though I disliked this character so much because he was an emotional extremist.  One page he was declaring love for the main character, the next page he was sleeping with various other women.  One page he would tell Fire that he was her best friend, then on the next page he purposely told secrets just to hurt her.  Extreme dislike.

4.  Isla from Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

5.  Zoey Redbird from The House of Night Series by P.C. Cast

I grouped these last two together because not only are they both main characters that I dislike (which is pretty rare, usually even if the main character isn’t my favorite I still like them) but I also dislike them for the same reason:  they are boy crazy.  There is nothing wrong with having a boyfriend but both of them pretty act like the world revolves around their boyfriend.  Isla literally stops hanging out with her best friend (whom she has known since they were babies) when she gets a boyfriend, then is shocked to learn that her best friend has moved on!  Zoey is even worse, she constantly is changing guys, cheating on them, and sometimes even having more than one boyfriend at a time.  She gets so wrapped up in one guy that she doesn’t even realize he is purposely trying to get her to mess things up with her friends so that they won’t help her when she needs it.  And his plan works!  Nope, nope, nope. Dislike.

Agree?  Disagree?  Let me know!

2 Comments

  1. I completely agree with the other comment. And we all know the most dislikeable thing about her is horrible, terrible, no- good, very bad fashion sense. 🙂 I also hated Nick! Ugh! Just go away, Nick! Shoo fly! The way he used Cath just for her story… I liked the part where he asked her permission for the magazine and she turned him down and then she got the spot! 🙂 I loved that so much! ❤ I haven't read Fire, but I'm starting to think I should… Ah, darn it! I haven't read the Isla and The Happily Ever-After yet, but I loved the first two soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I mean, Etienne. Just Etienne. EEEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEENNNNNNNNNNNNnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111
    -Nikki

Leave a Reply

