Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesday

Hey everyone, it’s time for another installment of Top Ten Tuesday! YAAAAY!  So today’s topic over at the Broke and the Bookish is Ten Books We’ll Probably Never Read.  It is a very interesting list.  However the more I thought about my own personal reading habits I realized that the main reason I choose not to read a book is because either A) Someone who’s reading taste is close to my own has said bad things about it or  B) I’m just not interested in whatever plot that book is about.  That doesn’t make for a very interesting top ten list.  So for the second time now I’ve gone rouge and picked a different topic.  So today I present to you my Top Ten Tuesday all about book covers!  Some covers are the reason I read the book, some covers kept me from reading a book.  Click below to see which book covers made my list!

Lets start by facing facts:  we judge a book by it’s cover.  It is the first thing you see and you can’t help but form an opinion.  Sometimes this works in a books advantage, sometimes this hurts a book.  While hopefully you have learned by now to fight past that first snap judgement and read what the book is about to make a more informed decision, covers are part of an overall book experience and can’t be completely ignored.

Books that I’ve read/want to read because of the cover

Finishing School Series by Gail Carriger

e and e book coverc and c book coverw and w book coverm and m book cover

There is something so striking about the black and white photo look of the girl set against the bright color of the backdrop.  This is an awesome series with and awesome set of covers!

Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

divergent seires book cover

These are the types of covers that without having a single person on them make you want to know more about that world.  Then once you do know about it you can revel in knowing what the symbols stand for.

Book Thief by Markus Zusak

the-book-thief book cover 2

Normally when I see different covers for the same book one just seems to fit more than the others.  With this book I can’t pick a favorite.  All fit the book so well.  Beautiful covers for a beautiful novel.

Cy in Chains by David L Dudley

cy in chains

Wow, this cover.  This cover doesn’t play around.  It doesn’t hide the fact that this book is serious, it embraces the idea.  As soon as I saw this cover I put this book on my “future book spotlight” list to read.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

red queen book cover

This is another of my to be read books.  The choice of having the dark red blood be the only color on the cover was bold and it worked.  As soon as I saw it I needed to know more.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

ill-give-you-the-sun book cover

I love that this cover conveys sunshine without just being a boring picture of the sun.  Plus the fact that even after I saw the cover I still didn’t have any idea what the book was about made me want to pick it up and read more.  Very clever Jandy Nelson.

Books that I almost didn’t read because of the cover

Palace-of-Spies-New-Cover1anna and the french kiss coverI'd_tell_you_I_love_you,_but_then_I'd_have_to_kill_youthe-selection-kiera-cass-large

I almost didn’t read all of these books because of the same problem: extremely girl book covers.  There is nothing wrong with being girly but these covers go so over the top they come across as silly.  Thankfully I choose to push past the bad cover choices and found 3 of the 4 to be pretty good books (Sorry to everyone who loved The Selection, it just wasn’t for me)

Bonus Cover!!!!!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

FANGIRL_CoverDec2012-725x1075

I did not like this cover at all before I read this book.  For some reason when I saw it I thought I already knew everything I needed to know about the book.  Clearly this girl is going to ignore her boyfriend to write fanfiction and everyone was going to make fun of her.  Boy was I wrong.  I’m so glad someone talked me into this book cause I would have missed out on one of my all time favorite books ever.  But interestingly enough now that I’ve read it (several times and listened to the audiobook) I love the cover.  It is young without looking childish.  Does that happen to you?  Does you liking or disliking of a book change how you see the cover?  Let me know in the comments!

4 Comments

  1. I did try the original topic but I just came back to the same two boring reasons. If i was bored just thinking of writing about it I wasn’t going to force others to be bored too! I’m thankful that The Broke and the Bookish have list of old topics they have done in the past for times when I need to switch.

Leave a Reply

