Top Ten Tuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday List from The Broke and the Bookish is Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To.  My list is a Top 8 books that I should have read last year but I will get to this year.  Let me know which one I missed and need to add to my ever growing to be read pile!

mad wicked folly

A Mad Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller

I actually checked this book out to read but other books kept getting in the way.  It is a historical fiction set in 1909 London about a a girl named Victoria Darling that wants to become a artist (not something done by women during that time). It’s not only about the struggles she faces while trying to make her dream come true but also her involvement  women’s rights.  Will probably make me wish i had some kinda artistic ability by the time i’m done with it (does doodling count?)

as we stay

And We Stay by Jenny Hubbard

The fist thing that drew me to this book was the cover.  Something about how simplistic yet interesting it is, I found myself wanting to know more.  Then I learned it was a girl named Emily dealing with survivors guilt after her boyfriend comes to school with a gun and kills himself.  Wow.  This book doesn’t sound like it will be an easy one to read but it does sound like it will give you a lot to think about.  Oh and the spirit of Emily Dickinson makes a guest appearance which only adds to my wanting to read this book.

monument 14 savage drift

Monument 14 Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne

This is the third and final book in the Monument 14 series.  I don’t want to give too much away about this book in case you haven’t read the first one yet, which you should because this whole series has been so good.  The third one picks up where right where we left off in book two, Dean and his friends dealing with the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster chain reaction that turns into a chemical spill that has  turned most of Colorado into a scary place to be.  Part survival story, part story about trying to do whats right in a world gone crazy.

snow like ashes

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Ok i’m cheating on this one a little, I didn’t know about this book till a few days ago so technically I didn’t want to read it until 2015 but I do want to read it (check back cause there is a very good chance this will be featured in a Book Spotlight!) and it was published in 2014 so I’m adding it to the list.  It is a fantasy book set in the Kingdom of Winter, which has been enslaved and left without their magic. Meria has been training as a warrior to help get her kingdoms magic and rightful monarch back.  Of course like any good fantasy book it won’t be easy for her.  See don’t you want to know more?

cress

Cress by Marissa Meyer

Again I don’t want to say too much about this book since it is third in The Lunar Chronicles but i will say that this series is amazing at retelling stories you have heard your whole life into new and interesting versions.  I’m a big fan and can’t wait to read this.

even in

Even in Paradise by Chelsey Philpot

I think the tagline “The Great Gatsby meets Looking for Alaska” pretty much sums up why I want to read this one.  Its about glitzy parties, crushes on your friend’s brother, and how even the most popular girl can have secrets.

art of secrets

The Art of Secrets by James Klise

When Saba Khan’s apartment is burned in a possible hate crime the school come together to help out but when one of the donated art pieces for a fundraiser for the family turns out to be worth a ton of money everyone starts fighting over who should get it.  The family? The school?  Things turn ugly once money is involved.

family romanova

The Family Romanov by Candace Fleming

This book is for sure going to be a Book Spotlight very soon.  I just started reading it and it is a fascinating look at the fall of the Romanov family and the bleak world of the Russian people.  Almost hard to remember that is it nonfiction with all the crazy events that happen!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

