Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish is Ten Authors I Own The Most Books From.

 

1. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I own multiple copies of all the Sherlock Holmes Stories. It’s really a problem.

 

2. Rudyard Kipling

I own many of his famous adventure stories as well as some of his stories for children and a collection of short horror stories that he wrote.

 

3. CLAMP

I wonder if this is cheating since they are manga authors and I have an entire run of their series xxxHolic. It is 19 volumes long and takes up a lot of space on my bookshelf.

 

4. Mike Mignola

He is another comic artist, so I’m iffy on the legality of this answer. But I’ve got the entire Hellboy collection, as well as the first BPRD story arc and most of the Abe Sapien run of comics. I’m also currently collecting Hellboy in Hell and all of the one-off stories he wrote for the comic series.

 

5. John Connolly

He writes a lot of adult mystery stories, but I’ve got many of the books he writes for young people. They are all primarily fantasy stories and I’ve read them many times over. Interestingly enough, I’ve never read his adult novels, even though the main character in them is featured in a collection of short stories that I own. I always skip over that one because I’m not interested, although maybe I will go back and read it.

 

6. George R. R. Martin

I, of course, have all of the Song of Ice and Fire books published to date, which take up a large amount of space on my bookshelf. I’m also currently borrowing some other books he wrote from my room mate, so I currently have quite a lot of Mr. Martin’s books.

 

7. J.K. Rowling

I have all of the Harry Potter books as well as the other three smaller books she published: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Quidditch Through the Ages, and Tales of Beetle the Bard. Harry Potter has always been a huge part of my life and I will always love these books and this author.

 

8. Neil Gaiman

A lot of people absolutely love Neil Gaiman and everything he writes. I am not one of those people. I only sort of like him, but there are a few books that he’s written that I absolutely love (I’ve got about 3 different copies of Coraline). I also have a few other titles he’s written. He is a writer whose works I become an accidental fan of. I don’t love everything he writes just because he’s Neil Gaiman.

 

9. Oscar Wilde

I love love love Oscar Wilde. I probably have more works by him than any other author on my bookshelf. I love him so much that I’ve even got a collection of mystery stories that feature him as the main character (he, however, did not write them). I fell in love with The Picture of Dorian Gray when I read it in high school and I avidly consumed every other thing he wrote and loved it all.

 

10.  Naoko Takeuchi

I feel like this might be another answer that’s cheating considering she writes manga. She, of course, is the author of Sailor Moon and I have the entire manga collection, as well as her side stories and the short series about Sailor V. Her works influenced me greatly as a child and I still like to have them around and read them as an adult.

4 Comments

  1. I adore manga. but I so rarely buy it because of how much space it takes up. I remember I started collecting Inuyasha when I was in high school, got to a big bookstore and saw the shelves and shelves of it… and promptly stopped. I have gotten a few shorter, complete series, though.

Leave a Reply

