Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

 

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish is Top Ten Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island.

 

1. Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series.

Without a doubt, I would bring Hermione. Harry and Ron would have never made it on their own in the seventh book without Hermione’s quick thinking, planning, and skill. Plus, out of every character I can think of, Hermione is probably the only one I can think of who would have read a book on wilderness survival. I’m confident that Hermione would be able to help us make it on the desert island. And she’d probably have a few good books to pass the time with in that magical bag of hers.

 

2. Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games series.

Katniss is no stranger to having to survive on a little. She’d probably be able to fashion a bow out of something on the island and she could hunt for food. She’d definitely be the provider. She might not be the most pleasant person to be around at times, but she would definitely be useful and I would appreciate her skills.

 

3. Tony Stark from the Iron Man comics.

In addition to keeping things interesting with his snark and sense of humor, Tony can build literally anything from a box of scraps. I know he’d be able to build us shelter and probably a way to get off of the island. He would definitely be an asset to have.

 

4. Asha Greyjoy from the Song of Ice and Fire series.

She is from a sea-faring portion of Westeros that is basically populated by Vikings. Her father cares deeply for her and her safety and she is the captain of fleets of ships, all manned by men who would follow her to their graves. She’d definitely know how to navigate the ocean to find mainland if Tony Stark could build her a ship. Plus, she’d probably be knowledgeable about what we can eat from the ocean and how we can get it. She’s also a pretty awesome character and I’d probably like her around just for her personality.

 

5.  Delilah Dirk from the Delilah Dirk series.

She’s a lady adventurer who has gotten herself into worse situations than this. This would probably be a piece of cake for her to get out of. Also, I am pretty sure she is the one who invented her flying boat, so she could just build another one and get us out of there. And if she couldn’t, then she’d definitely make things interesting on the island. She’d find some shenanigans for us all to get into. It certainly wouldn’t be a dull moment.

 

6. Yuuko Ichihara from the xxxHolic manga series.

She would probably be pretty useless when it came to survival, but she’d certainly be entertaining to be around. She’d be great at telling spooky stories around the fire at night. Plus, she’s magic, so she could probably get us off of the island by making an inter-dimensional portal, although her magic does come at a price. I’d probably let the other characters try to get us off the island, and I’d just keep Yuuko supplied with food and have her around for my own amusement.

 

7. Coraline Jones from Coraline.

As a child, she probably wouldn’t be much use either. But she’d try to make the whole situation an adventure. I figure I could use that sort of unbridled optimism when I’m stuck on an island. Her youthful energy would probably keep me going. It would also keep me motivated to keep surviving because I wouldn’t want anything bad to happen to her.

 

8.  Michael Faris from The End Games.

He has proved himself to be a hunter, scavenger, and survivor. And he has still managed to keep his sense of humor during a horrible situation.  He also is used to dealing with a small child so he could help me take care of Coraline. Of course, his brother was a lot younger, but he could still help keep her entertained. The only downside to having Michael on the island is that I’ve got a lot of pretty girls on it. He might get distracted because he’s still very obsessed with kissing a girl for the first time. I would try to keep him distracted from that by talking about video games with him.

 

9.  Malencia Vale from The Testing series.

She’s another survivor.  She can do pretty much everything Katniss, Hermione, and Tony can, just on a smaller scale. It wouldn’t be horrible to have more people who could do that, though. It would cut down on the stress so one person isn’t responsible for such a big thing. I’m really interested in her ability to find water and make it drinkable. That’s definitely something I’d want to have on the island.

 

10.  Fred and George Weasley from the Harry Potter series.

I started and ended this list with Harry Potter characters and I’m not even sorry. These guys probably wouldn’t be super good at survival, but they’d definitely keep everyone’s spirits up. They would have probably smuggled a lot of Weasley’s Wizarding Whizzes onto the island to keep us entertained for days.  I’d love if these two were stuck on the island with me.

8 Comments

    • I’ve seen people decide to take other characters solely because they were hot, so I’m not too worried about having a small child there. Literally everyone else I picked would be useful (even the Weasley Twins could probably help out), so I’d pretty much be useless. At least I would have someone to watch over. And If Tony Stark could build an arc reactor out of a box of scraps in a prison in the Middle East, then he could probably do stuff on an island too.

Leave a Reply

