Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme from The Broke and the Bookish is:  Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year. Read mine under the cut. Some of these books will definitely look familiar if you’ve been keeping up with this blog. Tell me what yours are in the comments! 

verityCode Name Verity by: Elizabeth Wein

Seraphina_book_cover_(US_addition)Seraphina by: Rachel Hartman

FANGIRL_CoverDec2012-725x1075Fangirl by: Rainbow Rowell

13455112Origin by: Jessica Khoury

marvelCaptain Marvel: In Pursuit of Fight by: Kelly Sue DeConnick

hawkeyeHawkeye: My Life as a Weapon by: Matt Fraction

The-MonstrumologistThe Monstrumologist by: Rick Yancey

The_Fault_in_Our_StarsThe Fault in Our Stars by: John Green

6a00d834520f5d69e20148c764a00b970c-320wiWildwood by: Colin Meloy

truthThe Truth About Alice by: Jennifer Mathieu

7 Comments

    • I was surprised by how much I liked The Truth About Alice. I usually don’t like realistic, what I call “after school”, fiction. But I was struck by how this book would probably resonate with tons of teens. It made made me think of stories in the news where girls have been sexually assaulted and everyone only treats the ruination of the boy’s life as the tragedy. I know there was no assault in this book, but the idea was the same: the teenage girl becomes the victim of bullying and vilification when it was the guy that did something wrong. I just felt like it was a nice story to show from multiple perspectives about how this sort of thing can affect people. I would recommend everyone read it. I loved it.

    • I usually don’t like dragon fantasies. I was never into dragons growing up (I was more into fairies), so I was sort of hesitant about reading Seraphina. But I saw it on so many book lists, so I decided to give it a try and was really impressed with the world building and the us vs. them mentality that everyone was struggling with. I had fun reading it and I’m glad I gave it a chance.

      I have never read any of the books on your TTT. I’ll have to give a few of them a try!

Leave a Reply

