Book Spotlight!

Today’s Book Spotlight is on The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau.

testingCia Vale lives in the Five Lakes district with her family years after the United States blew itself up and became the United Commonwealth. In this society, everyone has to prove they contribute to their district in a meaningful way or else they are forced to move to another district. Malencia has been studying agricultural revitalization techniques with her father and brother since she was very young, and in addition she’s been studying up on mechanics; she wants to be sure she’ll have a place in her district when she leaves school and enters the work force.

Her graduation day goes just like every other graduation day: students officially become adults and are given job assignments based on their skills. All of the students except Cia, that is. As it turns out, she is chosen by government officials to participate in the Testing, a very secretive and challenging examination given to a few chosen students who show signs of excellence and who have potential to enter university and one day be a member of the government.

Cia is whisked away from her family to Tosu City, the capital of the United Commonwealth, but not before she receives a warning from her father: be on your guard and trust no one. The tests aren’t what they appear to be and failure is not an option. Many of the other students chosen to participate in the Testing are highly competitive and will stop at nothing to make sure they have a place at University. The Testing will push Cia to her absolute limits when it comes to knowledge, survival, and instinct to see if she has what it takes to one day lead the United Commonwealth back to its former glory before the wars. That is, if the other testing candidates don’t take her out first.

This book is a thrilling dystopian adventure with danger at every turn. Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent are sure to enjoy this book, which is the first in a series. If you would like to reserve your copy, please fill out a book request form. And after you’ve read it, tell us what you think in the comments! We’d love to hear from you!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s